Winners of the 2008 Aurealis Awards

Aurealis Awards

The winners of the 2008 Aurealis Awards, given for the best works in Australian Science Fiction and Fantasy have recently been announced. The winners are:

  • Best Science Fiction Novel: "Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait" by K.A. Bedford
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: "The Empire" by Simon Brown
  • Best Fantasy Novel: "The Two Pearls of Wisdom" by Alison Goodman
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: "Sammarynda Deep" by Cat Sparks
  • Best Horror Novel: "The Seance" by John Harwood
  • Best Horror Short Story: "Painlessness" by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Best Anthology: "The Starry Rift" edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Best Collection: "Magic Dirt: The Best of Sean Williams" by Sean Williams
  • Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: "Tales From Outer Suburbia" by Shaun Tan
  • Best Young Adult Novel: "Finnikin of the Rock" by Melina Marchetta
  • Best Young Adult Short Story: "Cracks" by Trent Jamieson
  • Best Children's Novel: "The Wizard of Rondo" by Emily Rodda
  • Best Children's Illustrated Work/Picture Book: "The Wolf Kingdom series" by Richard Harland, Laura Peterson, illustrator
  • Peter McNamara Convenors' Award for Excellence: Jack Dann

Established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, The Aurealis Awards was created to recognize the achievements of Australian writers in the fields of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. An annual event, the awards are intended to compliment the Ditmars and the Australian Children's Book Council awards, and raise the profile of Australian Scifi, fantasy and horror while providing an essential reading list for anyone interested in these genres.