The Graveyard Book wins Newbery Medal

The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard book by Neil Gaiman has won this years Newbery Medal, the USA's most prestigious award for Children's Literature.
The Newbery has been awarded annually since 1922 and is named after the 18th century book publisher John Newbery.

The award is presented by the American Library Association (ALA) and past winners have included authors Madeleine L'Engle, Lloyd Alexander and Lois Lowry. Other awards of note include Terry Pratchett's Nation winning both Printz Honor Books and Odyssey Honor Audiobooks, and for the Alex Award, The Dragons of Babel by Michael Swanwick.

For more information, checkout the ALA.