Nominees in for this years Nebula Awards

Nebula Awards 2008 The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced that the nominees for this years Nebula Awards have been finalised. The Awards ceremony will be held in Los Angeles between the 24-26th April. The Awards have been given annually since 1965 for the best novel, novella, novelette and short story. The have also been two awards added, best script in 2000 and outstanding young adult science fiction or fantasy (The Andre Norton Award) in 2006.

The Favorites for winning best novel, in our opinion have to be between Making Money, by Terry Pratchett, or Brasyl by Ian McDonald., you can see a full list of all nominations below:


  • Little Brother Cory Doctorow
  • Powers Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Cauldron Jack McDevitt
  • Brasyl Ian McDonald
  • Making Money Terry Pratchett
  • Superpowers David J. Schwartz


  • The Spacetime Pool Catherine Asaro
  • Dark Heaven Gregory Benford
  • Dangerous Space Kelley Eskridge
  • The Political Prisoner Charles Coleman Finlay
  • The Duke in His Castle Vera Nazarian


  • If Angels Fight Richard Bowes
  • Dark Rooms Lisa Goldstein
  • Pride and Prometheus John Kessel
  • Night Wind Mary Rosenblum
  • Baby Doll Johanna Sinisalo
  • Kaleidoscope K.D. Wentworth

Short Stories

  • The Button Bin Mike Allen
  • The Dreaming Wind Jeffrey Ford
  • Trophy Wives Nina Kiriki Hoffman
  • 26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss Kij Johnson
  • The Tomb Wife Gwyneth Jones
  • Don't Stop James Patrick Kelly


  • The Dark Knight Jonathan Nolan, Christopher Nolan, David S. Goyer
  • WALL-E Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon
  • The Shrine Brad Wright

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • Graceling Kristin Cashore
  • Lamplighter D.M. Cornish
  • Savvy Ingrid Law
  • The Adoration of Jenna Fox Mary E. Pearson
  • Flora's Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom Ysabeau S. Wilce