Locus Award Finalists 2011

The finalists for the 2011 Locus Awards have been announced and there looks to be quite a lineup for best science fiction novel with Iain M Banks, Lois McMaster Hujold, William Gibson, Ian McDonald and Connie Willis all nominated.

China Miéville, Guy Gavriel Kay and Charles Stross look to be favorites for the best fantasy novel award. The Winners will be announced at the Science Fiction Awards Weekend in Seattle between 24th and 26th June 2011. There will also be inductions to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame including Harlan Ellison, Gardner Dozois, Moebius, and Vincent Di Fate.

The Full List:

Science Fiction Novel

Surface Detail - Iain M. Banks

Cryoburn - Lois McMaster Bujold

Zero History - William Gibson

The Dervish House - Ian McDonald

Blackout/All Clear - Connie Willis

Fantasy Novel

Under Heaven - Guy Gavriel Kay

Kraken - China Miéville

Who Fears Death - Nnedi Okorafor

The Fuller Memorandum - Charles Stross

The Sorcerer's House - Gene Wolfe

First Novel

The Loving Dead - Amelia Beamer

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms - N.K. Jemisin

Shades of Milk and Honey - Mary Robinette Kowal

The Quantum Thief - Hannu Rajaniemi

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe - Charles Yu

Young Adult Book

Ship Breaker - Paolo Bacigalupi

Mockingjay - Suzanne Collins

Enchanted Glass - Diana Wynne Jones

I Shall Wear Midnight - Terry Pratchett

Behemoth - Scott Westerfeld


Bone and Jewel Creatures - Elizabeth Bear

The Lifecycle of Software Objects - Ted Chiang

The Mystery Knight - George R.R. Martin

Troika - Alastair Reynolds

The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen's Window - Rachel Swirsky


The Fool Jobs - Joe Abercrombie

The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains - Neil Gaiman

The Mad Scientist's Daughter - Theodora Goss

Plus or Minus - James Patrick Kelly

Marya and the Pirate - Geoffrey A. Landis

Short Story

Booth's Ghost - Karen Joy Fowler

The Thing About Cassandra - Neil Gaiman

Names for Water - Kij Johnson

Thirteen Ways of Looking at Space/Time - Catherynne M. Valente

The Things - Peter Watts


Zombies vs. Unicorns - Holly Black & Justine Larbalestier, eds.

The Beastly Bride - Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds.

The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Seventh Annual Collection - Gardner Dozois, ed.

Warriors - George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds.

Swords & Dark Magic - Jonathan Strahan & Lou Anders, eds.


Mirror Kingdoms - Peter S. Beagle

What I Didn't See and Other Stories - Karen Joy Fowler

Fritz Leiber: Selected Stories - Fritz Leiber

The Best of Kim Stanley Robinson - Kim Stanley Robinson

The Collected Stories of Roger Zelazny: Volume Five: Nine Black Doves - Roger Zelazny








Night Shade Books


Subterranean Press



Ellen Datlow

Gardner Dozois

Gordon Van Gelder

David G. Hartwell

Jonathan Strahan


Bob Eggleton

Donato Giancola

John Picacio

Shaun Tan

Michael Whelan