British Fantasy award winners 2009

British Fantasy awards 2009

The biggest and best British fantasy convention, FantasyCon was held over the weekend, courtesy of the British Fantasy Society. During the convention, the British Fantasy Awards 2009 were celebrated. The Winners include the legendary Doctor Who series for Best Television and Vincent Chong for Best Artist (The Talented artist who created the cover for the excellent Nekropolis).

You can see a full list of all the winners just below:

Best Novel (The August Derleth Fantasy Award)

  • Memoirs of a Master Forger Graham Joyce, writing as William Heaney

Best Novella

  • The Reach of Children by Tim Lebbon

Best Short Fiction

  • Do You See by Sarah Pinborough, from Myth-Understandings, ed. by Ian Whates

Best Collection

  • Bull Running for Girls Allyson Bird

Best Anthology

  • The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 19 ed. Stephen Jones

The PS Publishing Best Small Press Award

  • Elastic Press run by Andrew Hook

Best Non-Fiction

  • Basil Copper: A Life in Books by Basil Copper, ed. Stephen Jones

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Postscripts ed. Peter Crowther and Nick Gevers

Best Artist

  • Vincent Chong

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Locke and Key Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez

Best Televison

  • Doctor Who head writer Russell T. Davies

Best Film

  • The Dark Knight directed by Christopher Nolan

The Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer

  • Joseph D'Lacey for Meat (Bloody Books)

The Karl Edward Wagner Award (the Special Award)

  • Hayao Miyazaki