2010 Hugo Award Nominations

The nominations for the 2010 Hugo awards have been announced at Aussiecon 4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention. The convention itself will take place between the 2nd and 6th of September 2010 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Guests of honour include Kim Stanley Robinson, the award winning artist Shaun Tan and dedicated fan Robin Johnson. Programs will include discussion panels, lectures, science demonstrations, readings, autographs and films.

Aussiecon 4 is so called as it's the 4th Worldcon to be held in Melbourne - Australia.

The full list of nominees are:

Best Novel
Boneshaker - Cherie Priest
The City & The City - China Miéville
Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America - Robert Charles Wilson
Palimpsest - Catherynne M. Valente
Wake - Robert J. Sawyer
The Windup Girl - Paolo Bacigalupi

Best Novella
Act One - Nancy Kress
The God Engines - John Scalzi
Palimpsest - Charles Stross
Shambling Towards Hiroshima - James Morrow
Vishnu at the Cat Circus - Ian McDonald
The Women of Nell Gwynne's - Kage Baker

Best Novelette
Eros, Philia, Agape - Rachel Swirsky (Tor.com 3/09)
The Island - Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2)
It Takes Two - Nicola Griffith (Eclipse Three)
One of Our Bastards is Missing - Paul Cornell (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction: Volume Three)
Overtime - Charles Stross (Tor.com 12/09)
Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast - Eugie Foster (Interzone 2/09)

Best Short Story
The Bride of Frankenstein - Mike Resnick (Asimov's 12/09)
Bridesicle - Will McIntosh (Asimov's 1/09)
The Moment - Lawrence M. Schoen (Footprints)
Non-Zero Probabilities - N.K. Jemisin (Clarkesworld 9/09)
Spar - Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 10/09)

Best Related Book
Canary Fever: Reviews - John Clute
Hope-In-The-Mist: The Extraordinary Career and Mysterious Life of Hope Mirrlees - Michael Swanwick
The Inter-Galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children's and Teens' Science Fiction - Farah Mendlesohn
On Joanna Russ - Farah Mendlesohn (ed.)
The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of SF Feminisms - Helen Merrick
This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is "I") - Jack Vance

Best Graphic Story
Batman: Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader? Written by Neil Gaiman; Pencilled by Andy Kubert; Inked by Scott Williams
Captain Britain And MI13. Volume 3: Vampire State Written by Paul Cornell; Pencilled by Leonard Kirk with Mike Collins, Adrian Alphona and Ardian Syaf
Fables Vol 12: The Dark Ages Written by Bill Willingham; Pencilled by Mark Buckingham; Art by Peter Gross & Andrew Pepoy, Michael Allred, David Hahn; Colour by Lee Loughridge & Laura Allred; Letters by Todd Klein
Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm Written by Kaja and Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colours by Cheyenne Wright
Schlock Mercenary: The Longshoreman of the Apocalypse Written and Illustrated by Howard Tayler

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
Avatar - Screenplay and Directed by James Cameron
District 9 - Screenplay by Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell; Directed by Neill Blomkamp
Moon - Screenplay by Nathan Parker; Story by Duncan Jones; Directed by Duncan Jones
Star Trek - Screenplay by Robert Orci & Alex Kurtzman; Directed by J.J. Abrams
Up - Screenplay by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; Story by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, & Thomas McCarthy; Directed by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
Doctor Who: "The Next Doctor" Written by Russell T Davies; Directed by Andy Goddard (BBC Wales)
Doctor Who: "Planet of the Dead" Written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts; Directed by James Strong (BBC Wales)
Doctor Who: "The Waters of Mars" Written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; Directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales)
Dollhouse: "Epitaph 1? Story by Joss Whedon; Written by Maurissa Tancharoen & Jed Whedon; Directed by David Solomon (Mutant Enemy)
FlashForward: "No More Good Days" Written by Brannon Braga & David S. Goyer; Directed by David S. Goyer; based on the novel by Robert J. Sawyer (ABC)

Best Editor, Long Form
Lou Anders
Ginjer Buchanan
Liz Gorinsky
Patrick Nielsen Hayden
Juliet Ulman

Best Editor, Short Form
Ellen Datlow
Stanley Schmidt
Jonathan Strahan
Gordon Van Gelder
Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist
Bob Eggleton
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio
Daniel Dos Santos
Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine
Ansible edited by David Langford
Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & Cheryl Morgan
Interzone edited by Andy Cox
Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Fan Writer
Claire Brialey
Christopher J Garcia
James Nicoll
Lloyd Penney
Frederik Pohl

Best Fanzine
Argentus edited by Steven H Silver
Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
CHALLENGER edited by Guy H. Lillian III
Drink Tank edited by Christopher J Garcia, with guest editor James Bacon
File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
StarShipSofa edited by Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Artist
Brad W. Foster
Dave Howell
Sue Mason
Steve Stiles
Taral Wayne

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Saladin Ahmed
Gail Carriger
Felix Gilman *
Seanan McGuire
Lezli Robyn *
* denotes second year of eligibility.