World fantasy award nominations 2009

Google Books

The Nominations for the World Fantasy Awards 2009 have been announced, with authors including Neil Gaiman (for both the Graveyard book and the novella "Odd and the Frost Giants"), Kage Baker for "House of the Stag", Jeffrey Ford for "The Shadow Year" and Daryl Gregory for "Pandemonium".

The winners will be announced during the World Fantasy Convention 2009, held in San Jose (USA) between 29th October and 1st November.

The nominations in full:

Nomination for best Novel

  • The House of the Stag Kage Baker
  • The Shadow Year Jeffrey Ford
  • The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman
  • Pandemonium Daryl Gregory
  • Tender Morsels Margo Lanagan

Nomination for best Novella

  • Uncle Chaim and Aunt Rifke and the Angel Peter S. Beagle
  • If Angels Fight Richard Bowes
  • The Overseer Albert Cowdrey
  • Odd and the Frost Giants Neil Gaiman
  • Good Boy Nisi Shawl

Nomination for best Short Story

  • Caverns of Mystery Kage Baker
  • 26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss Kij Johnson
  • Pride and Prometheus John Kessel
  • Our Man in the Sudan Sarah Pinborough
  • A Buyer's Guide to Maps of Antarctica" Catherynne M. Valente

Best Anthology

  • The Living Dead John Joseph Adams, ed
  • The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy Ellen Datlow, ed.
  • The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror 2008: Twenty-First Annual Collection Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link, & Gavin J. Grant, eds.
  • Paper Cities: An Anthology of Urban Fantasy Ekaterina Sedia, ed.
  • Steampunk Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds.

Best Collection

  • Strange Roads Peter S. Beagle
  • The Drowned Life Jeffrey Ford
  • Pretty Monsters Kelly Link
  • Filter House Nisi Shawl
  • Tales from Outer Suburbia Shaun Tan

Best Artist

  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Janet Chui
  • Stephan Martinière
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan

Special Award--Professional

  • Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant (for Small Beer Press and Big Mouth House)
  • Farah Mendlesohn (for Rhetorics of Fantasy)
  • Stephen H. Segal & Ann VanderMeer (for Weird Tales)
  • Jerad Walters (for A Lovecraft Retrospective: Artists Inspired by H.P. Lovecraft)
  • Jacob Weisman

Special Award--Non-professional

  • Edith L. Crowe (for her work with The Mythopoeic Society)
  • John Klima (for Electric Velocipede)
  • Elise Matthesen (for setting out to inspire and for serving as inspiration for works of poetry, fantasy, and SF over the last decade through her jewelry-making and her "artist's challenges.")
  • Sean Wallace, Neil Clarke, & Nick Mamatas (for Clarkesworld)
  • Michael Walsh (for Howard Waldrop collections from Old Earth Books)