Winners of the 2009 Locus Awards

Locus Awards 2009

The Winners of the 2009 Locus Awards have been announced during a ceremony in Seattle, USA. The winners include Neal Stephenson for "Anathem" in the Science Fiction category , Ursula K Le Guin for "Lavinia" in the Fantasy category and Neil Gaiman for his Young Adult novel "The Graveyard Book".

The Locus awards are an annual competition voted for by the readers of the magazine and was established in the early 1970's to provide recommendations and suggestions to Hugo Awards voters. Since that time the Locus Awards have grown and have often drawn many more voters than the Hugo Awards themselves.

Unlike any other Award, the Locus Awards explicitly honor publishers of winning works with certificates.

Previous winners have included Terry Pratchett (many times), Neil Gaiman, Kim Stanley Robinson and George R. R. Martin.

You can see this years full list here:

Locus Award Winners 2009

  • Science Fiction Novel: Anathem by Neal Stephenson
  • Fantasy Novel: Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • First Novel: Singularity's Ring by Paul Melko
  • Young-Adult Book: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • Novella: Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link
  • Novelette: Pump Six by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Short Story: Exhalation by Ted Chiang
  • Anthology: The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Fifth Annual Collection by Gardner Dozois
  • Collection: Pump Six and Other Stories by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Non-Fiction/Art Book: Coraline: The Graphic Novel by Neil Gaiman, adapted and illustrated by P. Craig Russell
  • Editor: Ellen Datlow
  • Artist: Michael Whelan
  • Magazine: F&SF
  • Publisher: Tor