Trudi Canavan wins 2009 Aurealis Award

Trudi Canavan wins 2009 Aurealis Award

Trudi Canavan, australian author of the Black Magician Trilogy and the Age of the Five series, has won the 2009 Best Fantasy Aurealis Award for her new novel "Magicians Apprentice".

Her previous novels have all been nominated for both Aurealis and Ditmar awards and have entered the Australian SF bestsellers list.

Other 2009 Aurealis award winners include Andrew McGahan winning best science fiction novel for "Wonders of a Godless World" and Honey Brown winning best Horror novel for her book "Red Queen".

You can see a full list of the winners here:

Peter Mcnamara convenors' award

Proprietor by Justin Ackroyd

best science fiction novel

Wonders of a Godless World by Andrew McGahan

best science fiction short story

Clockwork, Patchwork and Ravens by Peter M. Ball, Apex Magazine May 2009

best fantasy novel

Magician's Apprentice by Trudi Canavan

best fantasy short story - Joint winners

Father's Kill by Christopher Green

Once a Month, On a Sunday by Ian McHugh

best horror novel

Red Queen by Honey Brown

best horror short story - Joint winners

Wives by Paul Haines

Slice of Life - A Spot of Liver by Paul Haines

best anthology

Eclipse 3 by Jonathan Strahan (editor)

best collection

Oceanic by Greg Egan

Please note: The author declined to accept this award

best illustated book/graphic novel

Scarygirl by Nathan Jurevicius

best young adult novel

Leviathan Trilogy: Book One by Scott Westerfeld

best young adult short story

Seventeen by Cat Sparks

best children's (8-12 years) novel

A Ghost in My Suitcase by Gabrielle Wang

best children's (8-12 years) short fiction/illustrated work/picture book

Victor's Challenge by Pamela Freeman (author), Kim Gamble (illustrator)