Shortlist announced for the David Gemmell Awards

David Gemmell Award Winner

The shortlist for the 2010 David Gemmell awards have been announced over the Easter period and there are some interesting choices - with Brandon Sanderson being nominated twice (for Warbreaker and The Gathering Storm), along with Pierre Pevel (for best fantasy novel and Best newcomer).

The complete shortlists can be found below:

The Legend Award (Best Fantasy novel)

Brandon Sanderson - Warbreaker
Pierre Pevel - The Cardinal's Blades
Graham McNeill - Empire
Joe Abercrombie - Best served cold
Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson - The Gathering Storm

The Morning Star Award (Best fantasy Newcomer)

Stephen Deas - The Adamantine
Jesse Bullington - The Sad Tale of the Brothers Grossbart
Amanda Downum - The Drowning City
Pierre Pevel - The Cardinal's Blades
Ken Scholes - Lamentation

The Ravenheart Award (Best Fantasy Cover Art)

John Sullivan (Illustration) and Sue Michniewicz (Art Direction) - The Cardinal's Blades (by Pierre Pevel)
John Sullivan - Empire (by Graham McNeill)
Larry Rostant (Illustration) and Loulou Clarke (Art Direction) - Fire (by Kirstin Cashmore)
Jackie Morris (Illustration) and Dominic Forbes (Art Direction) - The Dragon Keeper (by Robin Hobb)
Didier Graffet and David Senior (Illustration), Laura Bret (Art Direction - Best Served Cold (by Joe Abercrombie)