Nominations for the BSFA awards

The nominations are in for the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) awards, with the winners due to be announced during eastercon LX 2009 (11th April 2009), which is the National British Science Fiction convention and is staged in London.

BSFA Nominations

The Nominations are:

Best Novel

  • Anathem by Neal Stephenson
  • Flood by Stephen Baxter
  • The Gone Away World by Nick Harkaway
  • The Night Sessions by Ken Mcleod

Best Short Fiction

  • Crystal Nights by Greg Egan
  • Evidence of Love in a case of abandonment by M. Rickert
  • Exhalation by Ted Chiang
  • Little lost robot by Paul McAuley

Best Artwork

  • Cover of Flood by Stephen Baxter
  • Cover of Swiftly
  • Cover of Interzone 218
  • Cover of Subterfuge Edited by Ian Whates
  • Cover of Murky Depths 4

Best Non Fiction

  • Physics for Amnesia by John Clute
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy by Farah Mendlesohn
  • Superheroes: Capes and crusaders in Comics and Films by Roz Kaveney
  • What is it we do when we read science fiction by Paul Kincaid

The BSFA was founded in 1958 by a leading group of Authors, Publishers, Booksellers and Fans who decided that Britain needed an organisation to encourage Science Fiction in any form. Their goal was to create an international forum that would bring together people interested in Science Fiction. 51 years later the BSFA unites people from as far as Australia, Russia, Europe, Canada, Argentina and the USA.