New Doctor Who Named

Doctor Who

The Actor Who will play the eleventh Doctor in 2010 has been announced in a special Doctor Who Confidential.

Matt Smith, who has previously acted alongside Billy Piper in the 2006 adaptation of Philip Pullman's The Ruby in the Smoke and also in the follow-up, The Shadow in the North, will be the youngest doctor ever at 26 years old, 3 years younger than Peter Davidson was when he became the 5th Doctor in 1982.

When learning the news, Matt said:

" I feel proud and honoured to have been given this opportunity to join a team of people that has worked so tirelessly to make the show so thrilling."

"David Tennant has made the role his own, brilliantly, with grace, talent and persistent dedication. I hope to learn from the standards set by him."

"The challenge for me is to do justice to the show's illustrious past, my predecessors, and most importantly, to those who watch it. I really cannot wait."

David Tennant is filming four special episodes in 2009 before stepping down.

The Eleven Doctors:
  • 1. William Hartnell (1963-1966)
  • 2. Patrick Troughton (1966-1969)
  • 3. Jon Pertwee (1970-1974)
  • 4. Tom Baker (1974-1981)
  • 5. Peter Davison (1982-1984)
  • 6. Colin Baker (1984-1986)
  • 7. Sylvester McCoy (1987-1996)
  • 8. Paul McGann (1996)
  • 9. Christopher Eccleston (2005)
  • 10. David Tennant (2005-2010)
  • 11. Matt Smith (2010 - )