Hugo Award Winners 2015

As many readers will know, this year there has been a concerted effort by a small but vocal minority to "game" the Hugo awards and try and put science fiction back by a few decades. They don't want to see ethnic and gender diversity in "their" science fiction and many of the Hugo award shortlists for this year were full of this small groups short-sighted, predominantly white male fiction.

Thankfully the larger science fiction community has made their voices heard and have chosen "No Award" for five of the Hugo categories including Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Related Work, Best Editor Short Form and Best Editor Long Form.

While this does mean that for those categories many deserving people have missed out on a chance of becoming Hugo Award winners it does also send a message to those racist, homophobic and sexist people. What do the vast majority of science fiction readers want? — well written and engaging fiction, nothing more, nothing less.

The best news? The Three Body Problem won best novel.

That's the first ever translated work to win a Hugo award for best novel and co-incidentally we had scheduled a review next week — brought forward to today to celebrate. It's also the first time a Chinese author has won the Hugo award for best novel and a massively deserving win for Liu Cixin.

The superbly talented author Wes Chu won the The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Here's that list in full:

Best Novel

  • The Three Body Problem - Cixin Liu, Ken Liu (translator)
  • The Goblin Emperor - Katherine Addison
  • Ancillary Sword - Ann Leckie
  • Skin Game - Jim Butcher
  • The Dark Between the Stars - Kevin J. Anderson

Best Novella

  • No Award
  • Flow - Arlan Andrews, Sr.
  • Big Boys Don’t Cry - Tom Kratman
  • One Bright Star to Guide Them - John C. Wright
  • The Plural of Helen of Troy - John C. Wright
  • Pale Realms of Shade” - John C. Wright

Best Novelette

  • The Day the World Turned Upside Down - Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Lia Belt (translator) (Lightspeed, 04-2014)
  • The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale - Rajnar Vajra (Analog, 07/08-2014)
  • Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium - Gray Rinehart (Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show, 05-2014)
  • The Journeyman: In the Stone House - Michael F. Flynn (Analog, 06-2014)
  • Championship B’tok - Edward M. Lerner (Analog, 09-2014)

Best Short Story

  • No Award
  • Totaled - Kary English (Galaxy’s Edge Magazine, 07-2014)
  • A Single Samurai - Steven Diamond (The Baen Big Book of Monsters, Baen Books)
  • Turncoat - Steve Rzasa (Riding the Red Horse, Castalia House)
  • On A Spiritual Plain - Lou Antonelli (Sci Phi Journal #2, 11-2014)
  • The Parliament of Beasts and Birds - John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons, Castalia House)

Best Related Work

  • No Award
  • The Hot Equations: Thermodynamics and Military SF - Ken Burnside (Riding the Red Horse, Castalia House)
  • Why Science is Never Settled - Tedd Roberts (
  • Transhuman and Subhuman: Essays on Science Fiction and Awful Truth - John C. Wright (Castalia House)
  • Letters from Gardner - Lou Antonelli (The Merry Blacksmith Press)
  • Wisdom from My Internet - Michael Z. Williamson (Patriarchy Press)

Best Graphic Story

  • Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt, (Marvel Comics)
  • Saga Volume 3 - written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • Rat Queens Volume 1: Sass and Sorcery - written by Kurtis J. Weibe, art by Roc Upchurch (Image Comics)
  • Sex Criminals Volume 1: One Weird Trick - written by Matt Fraction, art by Chip Zdarsky (Image Comics)
  • The Zombie Nation Book #2: Reduce Reuse Reanimate - Carter Reid (The Zombie Nation)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Edge of Tomorrow
  • The Lego Movie

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • Orphan Black: By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried
  • Doctor Who: Listen
  • Game of Thrones: The Mountain and the Viper
  • The Flash: Pilot
  • Grimm: Once We Were Gods

Best Editor, Short Form

  • No Award
  • Mike Resnick
  • Jennifer Brozek
  • Bryan Thomas Schmidt
  • Vox Day

Best Editor, Long Form

  • No Award
  • Toni Weisskopf
  • Sheila Gilbert
  • Anne Sowards
  • Jim Minz
  • Vox Day

Best Professional Artist

  • Julie Dillon
  • Kirk DouPonce
  • Alan Pollack
  • Nick Greenwood
  • Carter Reid

Best Semiprozine

  • Lightspeed Magazine
  • Strange Horizons
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Abyss & Apex
  • Andromeda Spaceways In-Flight Magazine

Best Fanzine

  • Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery
  • Tangent SF Online, edited by Dave Truesdale
  • Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond
  • The Revenge of Hump Day, edited by Tim Bolgeo

Best Fancast

  • Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)
  • Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman and Peter Newman
  • The Sci Phi Show, Jason Rennie
  • Adventures in SciFi Publishing, Brent Bower (Executive Producer), Kristi Charish, Timothy C. Ward & Moses Siregar III (Co-Hosts, Interviewers and Producers)
  • Dungeon Crawlers Radio, Daniel Swenson (Producer/Host), Travis Alexander & Scott Tomlin (Hosts), Dale Newton (Host/Tech), Damien Swenson (Audio/Video Tech)

Best Fan Writer

  • Laura J. Mixon
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Dave Freer
  • Amanda S. Green
  • Cedar Sanderson

Best Fan Artist

  • Elizabeth Leggett
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Ninni Aalto
  • Steve Stiles
  • Brad W. Foster

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • Wesley Chu
  • Kary English
  • Eric S. Raymond
  • Jason Cordova
  • Rolf Nelson