Sections Menu

Warhammer 40000

Warhammer 40000 (also known as Warhammer 40k) is a future universe, created by Games Workshop in 1987. Originally created as a tabletop minature wargame to accompany Warhammer Fantasy Battle, before long expansion packs became available, and other tabletop games were created that were set in the Warhammer 40000 universe.

The Warhammer universe is set 38000 years in the future where Mankind is led by the all powerful "Emperor", keeping the hordes of chaos at bay with his supreme psychic powers. Born a normal man who possessed an incredible intellect and enormous physical strength, he was also the most powerful psyker (psychic warrior) that mankind had ever seen.

In an effort to unite humanity and defeat the powers of chaos, the Emperor created the Space Marines, elite human warriors with superhuman abilities created through genetic therapy. The Emperor also taught humanity how to travel to the stars through the use of the Warp.

When his own son Horus became a traitor, the Emperor fought him in single combat, mortally wounded the Emperor defeated Horus and was put on a life support device called the Golden Throne. There he has sat for ten thousand years with his shattered body, intact only in spirit, with his incredible psychic powers protecting mankind.

Along with mankind, the universe is populated by Orks, Eldar and a whole host of other alien races, along with the armies of Chaos. The Warhammer 40000 novels are written by a number of very talented authors and published by Games Workshops own publishing house, the Black Library, and the primary focus is on the lives of the Space Marines and the Imperium.

Books Reviewed

  • A Thousand Sons by Graham McNeill
  • Architect of Fate by Christian Dunn
  • Butchers Nails by Aaron Dembski-Bowden
  • Chosen of Khorne by Anthony Reynolds
  • Courage and Honour by Graham McNeill
  • Eye of Vengeance by Graham McNeill
  • First and Only by Dan Abnett
  • Ghostmaker by Dan Abnett
  • Know no Fear by Dan Abnett
  • Legion of the Damned by Rob Sanders
  • Path of the Renegade by Andy Chambers
  • Perfection by Nick Kyme
  • Phalanx by Ben Counter
  • Prospero Burns by Dan Abnett
  • Shadows of Treachery by Christian Dunn
  • Space Marine by Ian Watson
  • The Chapters Due by Graham McNeill
  • The Emperor's Gift by Aaron Dembski-Bowden
  • The Killing Ground by Graham McNeill
  • The Primarchs by Christian Dunn
  • Void Stalker by Aaron Dembski-Bowden
  • Corax Lord of Shadows by Guy Haley
  • The Buried Dagger by James Swallow
  • Titan Death by Guy Haley
The modern superstition is that we're free of superstition.
- Anon

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was