Sections Menu

Damon Knight Grand Master Award

Damon Knight Grand Master Award is an award given by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) and is given to a living author as a lifetime achievement in fantasy or science fiction. Up until 2002 it was just known as the Grand Master Award but it was renamed in the honour of the founder of the SFWA, Damon Knight.

These awards are not strictly annual, up to 1995 no more than 6 a decade were awarded but this has been somewhat relaxed now due to the fact that these awards cannot be given posthumously.

  • 2013 Samuel Delany
  • 2012 Gene Wolfe
  • 2011 Connie Willis
  • 2010 Joe Haldeman
  • 2009 Harry Harrison
  • 2008 Michael Moorcock
  • 2007 James Gunn
  • 2006 Harlan Ellison
  • 2005 Anne McCaffrey
  • 2004 Robert Silverberg
  • 2003 Ursula K. Le Guin
  • 2001 Philip José Farmer
  • 2000 Brian W. Aldiss
  • 1999 Hal Clement
  • 1998 Poul Anderson
  • 1997 Jack Vance
  • 1996 A. E. van Vogt
  • 1995 Damon Knight
  • 1993 Frederik Pohl
  • 1991 Lester del Rey
  • 1989 Ray Bradbury
  • 1988 Alfred Bester
  • 1987 Isaac Asimov
  • 1986 Arthur C. Clarke
  • 1984 Andre Norton
  • 1981 Fritz Leiber
  • 1979 L. Sprague de Camp
  • 1977 Clifford D. Simak
  • 1976 Jack Williamson
  • 1975 Robert A. Heinlein
There are worlds out there where the sky is burning, and the sea's asleep, and the rivers dream. People made of smoke, and cities made of song. Somewhere there's danger, somewhere there?s injustice, and somewhere else the tea's getting cold.
- Seventh Doctor Who

Book of the month

The Seven by Peter Newman
The Seven by Peter Newman

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was