Sections Menu

The Wheel of Time

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth return again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, when the World and Time themselves hang in the balance, a wind rises in the mountains of mist . . .

The Wheel of time is an epic series by the late, great Robert Jordan (real name James Oliver Rigby Jr).
The series was originally planned as six books but now contains 14 novels with the final novel A Memory of Light being completed by the author Brandon Sanderson for expected release in January 2013.

The series itself is noted for its level of detail, well developed magic system, large cast of characters and of course its length. Four of the novels (8-11) have reached the number one spot on the New York Times bestseller list, and as of August 2008, the series had sold 44 million copies worldwide.

In Roberts vision time and history are all part of a metaphysical Wheel with history and events repeating when the wheel turns full circle. The True Source (magic) can be channelled by both men an women but each draw from a different half of this source, men draw on saidin while women draw on saidar. This is complicated by the fact that thousands of years ago there was a battle between the forces of good and the Dark One, which resulted in the Dark one being imprisoned, and the breaking of the world. before being imprisoned the dark one was able to taint saidin so that any male channelling will go mad. It has been prophesied that he will break free again and the only man who can stop his reign of terror is the Dragon Reborn, a man who can channel...

A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.
- George R. R. Martin

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was