Sections Menu

Robert Jordan

Robert Jordan was actually a pen name of the late James Oliver Rigney, Jr and is best known for his long running (11 books) and acclaimed series: The Wheel of Time.

Robert was born in the USA state of South Carolina, in a town called Charlestown. He served with the United States Army as a helicopter gunner during the Vietnam War (between 1968 and 1970).
Robert was distinguished with several medals during his two tours of Veitnam including the Bronze Star with "V" and bronze oak leaf cluster, two Vietnamese Gallantry Crosses with palms and the Distinguished Flying Cross with bronze oak leaf cluster.
After completing his tours, Robert studied an undergraduate degree in physics at the Citadel and after graduating, was employed by the US Navy as a nuclear engineer.
Robert was an avid historian and enjoyed hunting, fishing, sailing, poker, chess, pool, and pipe collecting.

He married his editor, Harriet McDougal, and lived in a house built over 200 years ago (in 1797).

Robert announced in early 2006 that he had been diagnosed with cardiac amyloidosis, and with treatment, was expected to live for about 4 years. Robert advised he intented to beat that estimate, posting an announcement to his fans on his official website Dragonmount that he fully expected to continue writing for another 30 years.

Robert Jordan died on the 16th September 2007.


The Wheel of Time Series
Conan The Barbarian
  • Conan the Invincible
  • Conan the Defender
  • Conan the Unconquered
  • Conan the Triumphant
  • Conan the Magnificent
  • Conan the Destroyer
  • Conan the Victorious
  • The Conan Chronicles
  • The Conan Chronicles 2
Fallon (as Reagan O'Neal)
  • The Fallon Blood
  • The Fallon Pride
  • The Fallon Legacy
A long time ago a bunch of people reached a general consensus as to what?s real and what?s not and most of us have been going along with it ever since
- Charles De Lint

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was