Cthulhu Mythos

The Cthulhu Mythos (sometimes referred to as the Lovecraft Mythos) is a shared universe that was originally created by the horror writer H.P. Lovecraft.

Lovecraft created this loose framework so that himself and others could create stories within the same world. Many of these tales are loosely connected and not all are consistent, writers including Lovecraft himself have been known to chance canon to fit a story. There are essentially two stages to the Mythos, the first stage are considered works that were created during Lovecrafts lifetime and the second stage where August Derleth (who actually coined the term Cthulhu Mythos) expanded upon the original vision.

The Mythos stories tend to refer to ancient and powerful deities known as the "Great Ones" who arrived from deep space to rule over the Earth. The currently lie in a dormant state awaiting a time when the stars are right to rise up from beneath the Earth and wreak havoc on mankind. Cthulhu is the most widely known of the old ones, currently sleeping in the submerged city of R'lyeh somewhere at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean.

Since the two stages the Cthulhu Mythos has grown to encompass a role-playing game, computer games, graphic novels and most notably a 6 book series by Brian Lumley.

I have attempted to compile a list of known Cthulhu works over on the left, however this is probably incomplete, if any of you know of short stories, novellette's or even novels that are considered part of the Cthulhu Mythos then please do let me know and I will see them included.

Books in the series

    By HP Lovecraft
    • The Nameless City
    • The Festival
    • The Colour out of Space
    • Call of Cthulhu
    • The Dunwich Horror
    • The Whisperer in Darkness
    • The Dreams in the Witch-House
    • At the Mountains of Madness
    • The Shadow Over Innsmouth
    • The Shadow Out of Time
    • The Haunter of the Dark
    • The Thing on the Doorstep
    • The Case of Charles Dexter Ward
    By August Derleth
    • The Mask of Cthulhu
    • Trail of Cthulhu
    By Clark Ashton Smith
    • The Return of the Sorcerer
    • The Tale of Satampra Zeiros
    • The Door into Saturn
    • The Nameless Offspring
    • The Weird of Avoosl Wuthoqquan
    • The Testament of Athammaus
    • Ubbo-Sathla
    • The Holiness of Azéderac
    • The Seven Geases
    • The Coming of the White Worm
    By Brian Lumley
    • The Burrowers Beneath
    • The Transition of Titus Crow
    • The Clock of Dreams
    • Spawn of the Winds
    • In the Moons of Borea
    • Elysia
    By Elizabeth Bear
    • Shoggoths in Bloom