Sections Menu

Stainless Steel Rat Series

The Stainless Steel Rat is a series of science fiction novels written by Harry Harrison. Originally created in 1961 there have been ten volumes in the series.

The Story revolves around the criminal genius James Bolivar diGriz, also known as Slippery Jim and The Stainless Steel Rat. Jim is a futuristic con man, thief and all round rascal.

A master of disguise and acomplished martial arts expert, he also has a strong morality, only stealing from institutions that have insurance coverage.

The Character first appeared in a short story published in a 1957 edition of the Astounding magazine.

The novels follow Jims exploits as he is eventually captured by The Corps and must work for them in order to avoid a very lengthy prison sentence (or worse).

Books in the series

Science without religion is lame; religion without science is blind.
- Albert Einstein

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was