Sections Menu

Space Odyssey Series by Arthur C Clarke

The Space Odyssey Series is one of the true classic Science Fiction series, written by the late Sir Arthur C Clarke. Originally to be written as a screenplay with Stanley Kubrick, it was eventually decided both novel and film should be written simultaneously. In the end, the novel was released a few months after the film, in 1968. The idea for 2001 was based loosely on Clarke's short story "The Sentinel".

It wasn't until 1982 that Clarke returned to the 2001 story and made the sequel 2010. 2061 and 3001 eventually followed, however only 2001 and 2010 have been adapted into films.

Books in the series

I must have a prodigious amount of mind; it takes me as much as a week sometimes, to make it up
- Mark Twain

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was