John Kessel

John Kessel is a prolific American author of science fiction and fantasy short stories and the occasional novel. He has won the Nebula award in 1982 for the novella "Another Orphan" and again in 2008 for the novelette "Pride and Prometheus".

He has also won the Locus award, the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award and the Paul Green Playwrights' Prize. John Kessel is also a widely published critic, his most notable work being the 2004 essay on Orson Scott Card's Enders Game.


    Short story collections
    • Meeting in Infinity (1992)
    • The Pure Product (1997)
    • The Baum Plan for Financial Independence and Other Stories (2008)
    Short Stories
    • Another Orphan (1982)
    • Mrs. Shummel Exits a Winner (1988)
    • Buffalo (1991)
    • The Franchise (1993)
    • The Miracle of Ivar Avenue (1996)
    • Every Angel is Terrifying (1998)
    • Ninety Percent of Everything (1999)
    • Stories for Men (2002)
    • Pride and Prometheus (2008)