Hugh Howey

Hugh Howey is an American author, probably best known for his breakout novel Wool.

Originally written as a novelette and self-published on Amazon, his success so was great that he turned that novellete into a best selling trilogy of novels and became something of a sensation. His fame spread into the wider media including mentions in Entertainment Weekly, Variety and even Deadline Hollywood. Wool has even been optioned by Ridley Scott and Steve Zaillian to be a potentially turned into a feature film.

His success is seen by many as justification for self-publishing as a viable publishing route and shows that it is possible to be successful by doing so.


    Silo Series
    • Wool (2011)
    • Shift (2012)
    • Dust (2013)
    Molly Fyde
    • Molly Fyde and the Parsona Rescue (2009)
    • Molly Fyde and the Land of Light (2010)
    • Molly Fyde and the Blood of Billions (2010)
    • Molly Fyde and the Fight for Peace (2010)
    Standalone novels
    • Half Way Home (2010)
    • The Hurricane (2011)
    • The Plagiarist (2011)
    • I, Zombie (2012)
    • Sand (2014)
    • Glitch (2014)
    • Second Suicide (2014)
    • The Shell Collector (2014)