Sections Menu

Harlan Ellison

Harlan Ellison is a prolific, award winning American author of speculative fiction. He's published over 1,700 short stories, novellas, screenplays, teleplays, essays and novels. He's written screenplays for shows including The Flying Nun, Burke's Law, Route 66, The Outer Limits, Star Trek, The Man from U.N.C.L.E., Cimarron Strip and The Alfred Hitchcock Hour.

Ellison has won the Hugo award 8 times, the Nebula 4 times (along with receiving the Grandmaster Nebula Award), the Bram Stoker Award 5 times, the Edgar Award twice, the World Fantasy Award twice and the Georges M?li?s fantasy film award twice.

Some of his best known stories include the short "I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream", the original Star Trek episode "The City on the Edge of Forever" and the ground-breaking, hugely influential anthology Dangerous Visions.


    Novels & Novellas
    • Web of the City (1958)
    • The Man With Nine Lives (1960)
    • Spider Kiss (1961)
    • Doomsman (1967)
    • A Boy and His Dog (1969)
    • The Starlost#1: Phoenix Without Ashes (1975)
    • All the Lies That are My Life (1980)
    • Run for the Stars (1991)
    • Mefisto in Onyx (1993)
    Short story collections
    • A Touch of Infinity (1958)
    • The Deadly Streets (1958)
    • Sex Gang (1959)
    • Children of the Streets (1961)
    • Gentleman Junkie and Other Stories of the Hung-Up Generation (1961)
    • Ellison Wonderland (1962)
    • Paingod and Other Delusions (1965)
    • I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream (1967)
    • From the Land of Fear (1967)
    • Love Ain't Nothing But Sex Misspelled (1968)
    • The Beast that Shouted Love at the Heart of the World (1969)
    • Over the Edge (1970)
    • Partners in Wonder (1971)
    • Approaching Oblivion (1974)
    • Deathbird Stories (1975)
    • No Doors, No Windows (1975)
    • Strange Wine (1978)
    • Shatterday (1980)
    • Stalking the Nightmare (1982)
    • Angry Candy (1988)
    • Mind Fields (1994)
    • Slippage (1997)
    • Troublemakers (2001)
    Anthologies Edited
    • Dangerous Visions (1967)
    • Nightshade and Damnations (1968)
    • Again, Dangerous Visions (1972)
    • Medea: Harlan's World (1985)
Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.
- Earnest Hemmingway

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was