Sections Menu

China Mieville

China Mieville is an award winning British author of speculative fiction, who likes to brand his style as "weird fiction" (after the 20th century authors of pulp and horror fiction including HP Lovecraft). He belongs to a group of writers who are sometimes known as "new weird" and consciously distance their work from the traditional commercial fiction clich?s of Tolkien epigones.

He has won a number of awards from the very beginning of his literary career including the 2001 Arthur C Clarke and the British Fantasy award for his second novel "Perdido Street Station" which was also nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Locus and British science fiction awards.

Since then he has been nominated for every single novel he has released and has won the 2005 and 2010 Arthur C Clarke award, the 2003 British Fantasy award, the 2003, 2005 and 2008 Locus award, the 2005 World Fantasy award and the 2010 Hugo award.


Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.
- Earnest Hemmingway

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was