Wold Newton Family

Wold Newton is not only a real English village in Yorkshire, it's also a speculative fiction series by noted author Philip Jose Farmer which uses the real 1795 meteorite strike as a reason for providing genetic mutations to anyone passing by which gave them extraordinary abilities (which were then passed on to their descendants).

Something of a mash-up series, the novels feature characters both real and imagined and offer insights into classic literature from authors such as Jules Verne, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Edgar Rice Burroughs.

Books in the series

    • The Wind Whales of Ishmael
    • Tarzan Alive
    • Time's Last Gift
    • The Other Log of Phileas Fogg
    • The Adventures of the Peerless Peer
    • Hadon of Ancient Opar
    • Venus on the Half-Shell
    • Flight to Opar
    • Ironcastle
    • Stations of the Nightmare
    • Escape From Loki
    • The Dark Heart of Time