Sections Menu

Vernor Vinge

Vernor Vinge is an award winning American writer of science fiction, a retired Professor of Mathematics and computer scientist. Best known for his novels "The Peace War", "A Fire Upon the Deep", "A Deepness in the Sky" and "Rainbows End".


    • True Names . . . and Other Dangers (1987)
    • Threats . . . and Other Promises (1988)
    • Across Realtime (1991)
    • The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge (2001)
Life... is like a grapefruit. It?s orange and squishy, and has a few pips in it, and some folks have half a one for breakfast.
- Douglas Adams

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was