Sections Menu

Thomas M Disch

Thomas M Disch was an American author of science fiction. He has won the Hugo Award (best related book), the John W Campbell Memorial Award, two Seiun Awards and a Rhysling Award. He has been nominated for many more including 9 Nebula'a.

Many of his science fiction novels have been critically acclaimed were are seen as major contributions to the New Wave science fiction movement in the 1960's.


    • The Genocides (1965)
    • The Puppies of Terra (1966)
    • The House That Fear Built (1966)
    • Echo Round His Bones (1967)
    • Camp Concentration (1968)
    • Black Alice (1968)
    • The Prisoner 1969)
    • Alfred the Great (1969)
    • Clara Reeve (1975)
    • On Wings of Song 1979)
    • Neighboring Lives (1981)
    • The Businessman: A Tale of Terror (1984)
    • The M.D.: A Horror Story, (1991)
    • The Priest: A Gothic Romance (1994)
    • The Sub: A Study in Witchcraft (1999)
    • The Word of God (2008)
    • The Ruins of Earth: An Anthology of Stories of the Immediate Future (1971)
    • Bad Moon Rising: An Anthology of Political Forebodings (1973)
    • The New Improved Sun: An Anthology of Utopian Fiction (1975)
    • New Constellations: An Anthology of Tomorrow's Mythologies (1976)
    • Strangeness: A Collection of Curious Tales (1977)
    • Torturing Mr. Amberwell (1985)
    • The Silver Pillow: A Tale of Witchcraft (1988)
    • The Voyage of the Proteus: An Eyewitness Account of the End of the World (2007)
    • The Proteus Sails Again: Further Adventures at the End of the World (2008)
    Books for children
    • The Brave Little Toaster: A Bedtime Story for Small Appliances (1980)
    • The Tale of Dan De Lion (1986)
    • The Brave Little Toaster Goes to Mars (1988)
    • A Child's Garden of Grammar (1997)
    Story collections
    • One Hundred and Two H-Bombs (1966)
    • Fun with Your New Head (1971)
    • White Fang Goes Dingo and Other Funny SF Stories (1971)
    • Getting into Death (1973)
    • Getting into Death and Other Stories (1976)
    • Fundamental Disch (1980)
    • The Man Who Had No Idea (1982)
    • The Wall of America (2008)
Cynical realism is the intelligent man's best excuse for doing nothing in an intolerable situation.
- Aldous Huxley

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was