Terry Goodkind

Terry Goodkind is an American fantasy Author of the best selling Series "the Sword of Truth" which currently stands at 11 volumes.

Terry was born in the American town of Omaha in the state of Nebraska, while Terry was a school he discovered that he suffered from Dyslexia which gave him frustration in his passion of writing and story-telling.
To ease his frustrations he concentrated on his other interests which include Marine and Wildlife Art, cabinet making Violin making and artifact restoration.
After becoming married, Terry decided to built a home in woods on "Mount Desert Island", off the coast of Maine that he is very fond of.

It was during the construction of this house that Terry first visualised his first novel "Wizards First Rule" and he states it was due to his Dyslexia that he was able to create whole stories in his head without having to put pen to paper.

After his home was completed, Terry set to writing the novel and only 10 weeks after it was finished in 1994, it was picked up by Tor Books for a record 6 times more than any previous "first novel". In a very short space of time, "wizrds forst Rule became an international bestseller. Terry's ten subsequent books have all enjoyed a great deal of success with 10 out of 11 appearing on the "New York Times Bestseller List".

One of terry's greatest strengths as a writer lies in his creation of realistic but imaginative worlds and his ability to provoke thought and contemplation from his stories, carefully blended with real issues and conflicts.

Terry now spends the majority of his time with his wife in the second home he built and is currently working on three mainstream novels with G.P. Putnam's Sons, which is the first time in his career he has taken a break from the Sword of Truth Series.

Legend of the Seeker

The Sword of Truth series has finally been made into a TV series, produced by ABC Studios and called Legend of the Seeker. The show has some impressive executive producers in the form of Robert Tapert, Joshua Donen and the very talented Sam Raimi (He of the Evil Dead and Spiderman fame). The first series aired in the USA between 1st november 2008 and 23rd May 2009 and recieved very good reviews including the high production value and use of the New Zealand landscape.

The second series has been approved and will begin airing in the US on the 7th November 2009, while the first series is now being shown in more than 60 countries worldwide. In the UK the Scifi Channel has secured the rights to the first and second series.



    The Sword of Truth Series
    • Wizard's First Rule (1994)
    • Stone of Tears (1995)
    • Blood of the Fold (1996)
    • Temple of the Winds (1997)
    • Soul of the Fire (1999)
    • Faith of the Fallen (2000)
    • The Pillars of Creation (2002)
    • Naked Empire (2003)
    • Chainfire (2005)
    • Phantom (2006)
    • Confessor (2007)
    • the Law of Nines (2009)