Stephen Lawhead

Stephen Lawhead is an American Author writing Fantasy, Science Fiction, Childrens fiction and Historic Fiction.

Stephen was born and grew up in Kearney in the state of Nebraska and his early life was spent in the USA where he earned a degree in the Fine Arts. He first began to write professionally at "Campus Life" magazine, based in Chicago where he was a staff writer and editor.

He wrote hundreds of articles and several non-fiction books while working at Campus Life and after a short career in the music Industry as the president of his own record label, Lawhead began a full time freelance writing career.

His first fiction novel was In the Hall of the Dragon King, which was published in 1982 and became the first in the Dragon King Trilogy. Since then he has written a number of acclaimed fantasy series, most notably the Pendragon Cycle which is a five book series based on the Arthurian tales, and the award winning series Song of Albion, which is a crossover fantasy series that delves into ancient Celtic myth and legend.


    Dragon King trilogy
    • In the Hall of the Dragon King (1982)
    • The Warlords of Nin (1983)
    • The Sword and the Flame (1984)
    Empyrion Saga
    • Empyrion I: The Search for Fierra (1985)
    • Empyrion II: The Siege of Dome (1986)
    The Pendragon Cycle
    • Taliesin (1987)
    • Merlin (1988)
    • Arthur (1989)
    • Pendragon (1994)
    • Grail (1997)
    The Song of Albion
    • The Paradise War (1991)
    • The Silver Hand (1992)
    • The Endless Knot (1993)
    The Celtic Crusades
    • The Iron Lance (1998)
    • The Black Rood (2000)
    • The Mystic Rose (2001)
    King Raven Trilogy
    • Hood (2006)
    • Scarlet (2007)
    • Tuck (due in 2009)
    Hero (With Ross Lawhead)
    • City Of Dreams (2003)
    Bright Empires
    Single Volumes
    • Dream Thief (1983)
    • Byzantium (1996)
    • Avalon: The Return of King Arthur (1999)