Sections Menu

Old Kingdom Series by Garth Nix

The Old Kingdom series (also known as the Abhorsen Trilogy in the USA) is a collection of young adult fantasy books written by Garth Nix featuring the novels Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen. There has also been a collection of short stories set in the Old Kingdom called "Across the Wall"

The Old Kingdom is a land where magic is commonplace, Sabriel and Lirael are training to become a type of reverse necromancer and live outside the old Kingdom in a world very much like our own (called Ancelstierre).

Sabriel is the daughter of the Mage Abhorsen (another reverse necromancer) whose role is guiding the disturbed dead back to rest. When Abhorsen goes missing, Sabriel must leave the security and safety of her school to travel into the Old Kingdom to find him.

Books in the series

A long time ago a bunch of people reached a general consensus as to what?s real and what?s not and most of us have been going along with it ever since
- Charles De Lint

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was