Sections Menu

Olaf Stapledon

Olaf Stapledon was a British author and philosopher and created a number of influential science fiction novel's in the early to mid 20th Century.

It is known that his writing directly influenced authors such as Arthur C Clarke, Brian Aldiss and CS Lewis. He contributed many ideas to the genre including the original concept of the Dyson sphere with his 1937 novel Star Maker, Terraforming and Genetic Engineering with both his first novel Last and First Men (released in 1930) and the later novel about a human like intelligence in a Dog - Sirius.


    • Last and First Men (1930)
    • Last Men in London (1932)
    • Odd John (1935)
    • Star Maker (1937)
    • Darkness and the Light (1942)
    • Old Man in New World (1944)
    • Sirius (1994)
    • Death into Life (1946)
    • The Flames (1947)
    • A Man Divided (1950)
    • Four Encounters (1976)
    • Nebula Maker (1976)
Cynical realism is the intelligent man's best excuse for doing nothing in an intolerable situation.
- Aldous Huxley

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was