Sections Menu

Burton & Swinburne

Burton & Swinburne is a steampunk series by Mark Hodder featuring the fictional ecsapades of noted British explorer, geographer, translator, writer, soldier, orientalist, cartographer, ethnologist, spy, linguist, poet, fencer and diplomat - Sir Richard Francis Burton along with his pain-loving poet friend Algernon Swinburne.

The series mixes a good deal of historical fact with fiction and includes a number of historical people, places and events - centred around an alternative history that includes the development of genetics in the 1800's.

The first volume in the series, and the author's debut - "The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack" won the 2011 Philip K Dick award for best novel.

Books in the series

The modern superstition is that we're free of superstition.
- Anon

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was