Sections Menu

Alfred Bester

Alfred Bester was an award winning, influential author of science fiction. He has the distinction of winning the very first Hugo award for "Best Novel" with his seminal work The Demolished Man.

He was made SFWA grand master in 1988 and Harry Harrison is quoted as saying Bester was "one of the handful of writers who invented modern science fiction."


    • The Demolished Man (1953)
    • Who He? (The Rat Race) (1953)
    • The Stars My Destination (Tiger, Tiger) (1956)
    • The Computer Connection (1975)
    • Golem100 (1980)
    • The Deceivers (1981)
    • Tender Loving Rage (1991)
    • Psychoshop (1998)
Never put off till tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.
- Mark Twain

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was