Sections Menu

Margaret Atwood

Margeret Atwood is an award winning Canadian author, poet, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist.

She has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize no less than five times - winning the award in 2000 for her novel "The Blind Assassin. She has won the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Prince of Asturias, the Trillium Book Award three times and many others.

She has been given nineteen honoury degrees from various Universities including Harvard, Oxford, Cambridge and Leeds. Her work has received widespread critical acclaim.


  • The Edible Woman (1969)
  • Surfacing (1972)
  • Lady Oracle (1976)
  • Life Before Man (1979)
  • Bodily Harm (1981)
  • The Handmaid's Tale ()
  • Cat's Eye (1988)
  • The Robber Bride (1993)
  • Alias Grace (1996)
  • The Blind Assassin (2000)
  • Oryx and Crake (2003)
  • The Penelopiad (2005)
  • The Year of the Flood (2009)
  • MaddAddam (2013)
  • The Heart Goes Last (2015)
  • Scribbler Moon (2114)
The ships hung in the sky, much the way that bricks don't
- Douglas Adams

Book of the month

Shelter by Dave Hutchinson
Shelter by Dave Hutchinson

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was