Sections Menu

Ace Books

Ace Books was founded in 1953 by the editor and publisher A. A. Wyn. It was acquired by G. P. Putnam's Sons in 1982 becoming an imprint of Berkley's. Currently an imprint of Penguin, Ace Books holds the distinction of being the longest continuously running science fiction publisher in the USA. Over the years it has published works by some of the most revered names in science fiction and fantasy including Samuel R. Delany, Philip K. Dick, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Robert Silverberg and more recently Joe Haldeman, Jack McDevitt, Charlaine Harris, Laurell K. Hamilton and Jim Butcher.

Ace Books also innovated too, creating the well known "Ace Doubles" which featured two short novels published back to back within the same book.

He felt that his whole life was some kind of dream and he sometimes wondered whose it was and whether they were enjoying it.
- Douglas Adams

A Message from SFBook

SFBook is entirely funded by Ant including hosting, development and any other costs.

If you enjoy the site please consider a small donation towards the cost of the upkeep and development of SFBook.

The Man who never was