The Never Hero: Chronicles of Jonathan Tibbs

By T. Ellery Hodges

The Never Hero: Chronicles of Jonathan Tibbs, a novel by T. Ellery Hodges
Book details

First time author T. Ellery Hodges enters the scifi genre with both barrels blazing! His debut novel The Never Hero is an unexpected thrill-ride through both time and space as our protagonist Jonathan fights an alien force hell-bent on destroying humankind.

From the back cover:

At the gates between worlds
In a war outside of time
He fights for us

First, I have to admit: I read this novel after a previous binge on the Doom and Alien/Aliens series. In many ways Jonathan Tibbs reminded me of a contemporary portrayal of Dafydd ab Hugh’s first introduction of Fly in Doom: Knee-Deep in the Dead, a capable protagonist thrown into a war he did not want to fight. In both novels, Jonathan and Fly are all that stand between Earth’s destruction by a monstrous alien army. They are reluctant to fight but honorably rise to a role as faceless defenders—a plot that only fate could orchestrate.

Hodges’s writing style is clear and appropriate for the genre; his dialogue is fluid. The characters are well rounded and meaningfully contribute to the story, providing a few subplots that add instead of distract from the main plot. The action sequences are well composed and easy to visualize. Overall, Hodges’s writing is solid.

This is definitely a new creative series for fans of Science Fiction, Superhero, and Alien Invasion. An imaginative amalgamation of genres!

Written on 8th December 2014 by .

You may also like

Moonfall
View
Passengers to Sentience
View
Pilgrims' Moon
View
Schild's Ladder
View
Something Coming Through
View
The Book of the New Sun: Shadow and Claw
View
The Eye of the Storm
View
The Forge of God
View
The Left Hand of Darkness
View
The Long Earth
View
This Alien Shore
View
Slow Bullets
View